Search Ontario Government Sites

ONTERM
Ontario Terminology

​​​

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)


Answers

About ONTERM

To Top1. Why is the ONTERM site useful? How can it help me?

The ONTERM site is a reference tool that helps you find or verify Government of Ontario official names, as well as Ontario geographic names, in both English and French. ONTERM is useful for communicators, translators, or anyone looking for the correct names of ministries, government organizations, organizational units, programs, policies, position titles or administrative regions. It also provides names of specialized services, IT systems and applications, as well as slogans specific to the Government of Ontario. Using the correct name improves communication and makes information easier to find.

To Top2. What is the difference between INFO-GO and ONTERM?

The ONTERM and INFO-GO sites were created to meet different needs. The INFO-GO site provides a telephone directory with useful government offices and employee contact information. The position titles and office names are provided as general information, and the French equivalents have not been verified. The ONTERM site provides the names of Ontario government offices and position titles, as well as programs, services and many other names, all of which have been verified and approved as official Government of Ontario names.

To Top3. How does ONTERM work?

ONTERM has two databases: Official Names Ontario and GeoNames Ontario. Whenever an official name is requested, a new record is added to the corresponding database. On the ONTERM site, you can also find Reference Lists, Lexicons and Style Guides specific to the Government of Ontario.

To Top4. What is an official name?

Official names are names and titles that have been created and approved by an organization. They are used to identify the organization, its structure, personnel and activities. The Official Names Ontario database contains official names of the Government of Ontario. They include the names of ministries, government organizations, organizational units, programs, public policies, position titles, administrative regions and specialized services as well as slogans, IT systems and applications. The Official Names Ontario database does not include document titles. Click here for more information about official names.

To Top5. What is a geographic name?

Generally speaking, a geographic name is the name of a place. Geographic names in the GeoNames Ontario database include not only the names of natural features such as rivers and lakes, but also administrative entities such as communities, counties, parks and municipalities. GeoNames Ontario is the official registry of all Ontario geographic names and has some 57,000 entries in English and French. Click here for more information about geographic names.

To Top6. How often is the information on the ONTERM site updated?

The databases and website pages are updated regularly. The date of the last update is indicated on each page. All Official Names and GeoNames records show the creation date and, where applicable, when the records were last updated.

Searching the Databases

To Top7. How do I search the databases?

To learn how to search the databases, read the Search Help.

To Top8. When searching, is it necessary to enter capital letters and French accents?

The search function is not case-sensitive. You do not need to enter capital letters. French accented characters, such as é, ï, â, À and the cedilla are transparent. For example, the search results will be the same for ministère or ministere, Noël or noel, français or francais. For information on special characters, see Question 9.

To Top9. Do I need to include punctuation marks, apostrophes, special characters or spaces?

The search function is sensitive to punctuation marks, apostrophes and special characters such as the ampersand (&) and the "at" symbol (@). A space is considered to be a character; an extra space can affect your search and may lead to unsuccessful results. If the name you are looking for includes a punctuation mark, an apostrophe, a special character or a space, you must include it to find the record. Replace the punctuation mark, special character or space with asterisks (*) to broaden your search. For example, if you are looking for the Aboriginal/Federal Relations Branch and you enter Aboriginal Federal Relations Branch (i.e., without the "/"), your search will be unsuccessful. However, if you search for the character chain aboriginal*federal*relations, you will find the name you are looking for. Similarly, to find the record "Ontario's Action Plan for Health Care", you must include in your search the "'s" (Ontario's Action Plan for Health Care) or use the asterisk (Ontario*action*plan*health*care). In the GeoNames database, some geographic names differ only by the use of the apostrophe. For example, "Bell Lake", "Bell's Lake" and "Bells Lake" are three different geographic entities.

To Top10. How can I search the databases if I'm unsure of an official name?

The most effective way to search is to use keywords in combination with one or more asterisks. For example, if you are looking for the name of a committee on "health care systems" or "healthcare system", use the search chain health*care*system*committee which will return the name of two committees: "Health Care System Committee" and "Health Care Systems Research Review Committee".

To Top11. Does the ONTERM site contain acronyms or abbreviations?

Yes, abbreviations and acronyms specific to Government of Ontario official names are included in the Official Names Ontario database. For example, the record for Local Health Integration Network gives the acronym LHIN, and the record for Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs gives the acronym OMAFRA. In addition to entries in the Official Names records, the ONTERM site provides the Ontario Government Commonly Used Abbreviated Forms List which includes abbreviations commonly used in the Ontario Public Service, such as ADM for "assistant deputy minister" and FLS for "French language services".

To Top12. I get two or more results when I search the Official Names Ontario database. Which one should I choose?

You may find two or more different records for the same name. For example, you will find two records for the name "Ministry of Government and Consumer Services": one for the ministry that existed between 2007 and 2008 and one for the current ministry. The information provided in the Name Status, Ministry, Entity, Subject and ONTERM Note fields will help you determine the differences. Similarly, if you search for the position title "Planner", you will find several records with different French equivalents. To find the correct French equivalent for "Planner" with the Ministry of Municipal Affairs, you must consult the record that has the ministry affiliation Municipal Affairs and you will obtain the French title "aménageur" and "aménageuse".

To Top13. Why do I get more than one result when I search for a geographic name?

Each record refers to a single geographic entity with a unique latitude and longitude. For example, searching the search chain Niagara Falls will return a record for the city, another for the falls and two more for the urban communities. The French equivalent varies depending on the type of geographic entity: the French equivalent for the city and urban centres remains the same as the English, while the French name for the falls is "chutes Niagara". By checking the type of entity, the municipality where the entity is located and the latitudinal and longitudinal points provided on each GeoNames record, you will be able to distinguish each entity.

To Top14. How can I determine to which ministry or entity a name is affiliated?

The list of results in the middle column does not show the affiliation to a ministry or an entity. However, clicking on an entry in this list will open the record on the right side of the screen and show the affiliation. The affiliation appears at the top of the record in the Ministry or Entity field.

To Top15. Can I use an official name affiliated with one ministry or agency for another ministry or agency?

Generally, a name affiliated with a ministry or government agency should not be used for another ministry or agency. The equivalent name in the other language may not be the same in all situations. For example, the "Corporate Services Division" in a ministry will usually be called "Division des services ministériels" in French, while the "Corporate Services Division" in a government agency will usually be called "Division des services généraux" or "Division des services internes". However, when the ministry affiliation field indicates "used OPS-wide - OPS," this means the name is recommended for usage, in English and French, throughout the Ontario Public Service. If you want to confirm the correct use of a name, send us a terminology request or contact us at 416 327-2723.

To Top16. Can I restrict my search to a specific field?

It is possible to restrict your search to a particular subject field, ministry or entity, using the filter function. For more information, refer to the Search Help.

To Top17. When I get too many results, how do I find the name I am looking for?

If you get too many results, it may be helpful to modify your search by adding one or more keywords, with or without asterisks. For example, the search chain government*services will return many entries containing "government services". Adding the keyword "cluster" to the search chain without an asterisk (i.e, government services cluster) will return only two records with the name "Government Services Cluster". Adding the keyword "cluster" with an asterisk (i.e., government services*cluster) will return two additional names: "Government Service Delivery Cluster" and "Government Services Delivery Information and Information Technology Cluster". It is possible to further narrow your search to a particular subject field, ministry or entity by applying filters.

To Top18. I get no results when I search the databases. What should I do?

If your search returns no results, check whether you have chosen the correct source language and whether you have entered the word or character chain correctly. Use asterisks to broaden your search; for example, to find all the entries for "agency office", use agency*office. This search will return the records for "Agency Appointments Office" and "Agency Relations Office". You can also refer to the Search Help.
If you are still unable to find the information you need, send the Terminology Unit a terminology request or call us at 416 327-2723. We encourage you to send us your requests since ONTERM is updated and new records are created in response to the requests we receive. Keep in mind that the Official Names Ontario database includes only Government of Ontario official names and no document titles.

Terminology Requests

To Top19. What's the best way to submit a terminology request?

In general, it is best to use the Terminology Request Form. You may also send an email to onterm@ontario.ca with the official name(s) requested, your phone number and the Translation Tracking System (TTS) job number, if applicable. Please also attach the document(s) where the requested names are used and specify the deadline (date and time) by which you need an answer.
A terminologist is available to respond to requests between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday to Friday, excluding statutory holidays.

To Top20. How will I know if my terminology request has been received?

After you submit a terminology request, you will receive an email confirmation when the Terminology Unit receives your message. If you do not receive the confirmation email, please call us at 416 327-2723 to let us know.

To Top21. What is the turnaround time for a terminology request?

Our turnaround time takes into account the requested deadline and the order in which the requests are received. It is best to give the Terminology Unit at least 24 hours or more to respond. Whenever possible, send your questions well in advance.

To Top22. What should I do if I have an urgent request?

If you have an urgent request, it is best to submit it using the Terminology Request Form but also draw our attention by leaving us a telephone message at 416 327-2723. Please remember to specify the time and date by which you need a reply.

To Top23. I am a translator and I need a new French equivalent outside business hours or during holidays. What should I do?

If you are a translator and need an equivalent for a new official name outside business hours (Mon – Fri, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.) or during holidays, you may use an unofficial equivalent (in lower case) in your text. Please also send your unofficial equivalent to onterm@ontario.ca so that the Terminology Unit can verify and, if warranted, officialise it, and add it to ONTERM.

To Top24. If an official government name appears in a legal context such as in a contract, should I reconfirm it with the Terminology Unit?

Although we strive to keep ONTERM as accurate and current as possible, it is best to reconfirm official government names whenever their use may have any legal implications. For confirmation, call our Terminology Unit at 416 327-2723 or submit a terminology request.

To Top25. Where can I have a business card, letterhead or signage translated?

If you are part of the Ontario Public Service (OPS), you can have business cards, letterheads or standard signage translated at no charge by our Terminology Unit. Use the Terminology Request Form to send us your request.
Standard signage refers to signs that designate a government office or are used repeatedly in different locations across the Ontario government. For examples of standard signage, please refer to the Language Used in Ontario Government Signage.

To Top26. Where can I find the titles of an OPS corporate directive, operating policy or guideline?

These can be found in Titles of Ontario Public Service Corporate Directives, Operating Policies and Guidelines. If you cannot find the title in the list, please send us a terminology request.

Other Resources

To Top27. Where can I find the titles of Government of Ontario publications and forms?

You can verify titles of Ontario government publications on the ServiceOntario Publications website. Titles of forms are available in the Central Forms Repository.

To Top28. Where can I access Ontario bills, statutes and regulations?

Ontario statutes and regulations are on the e-Laws website. First, second and third readings of bills can be found on the Legislative Assembly website.

To Top29. The document I am translating has an embedded glossary. What do I do?

Technical Questions

To Top30. What should I do if I'm unable to connect to the ONTERM site?

If you have difficulties accessing ONTERM, please report the problem to the Government Translation Service at gts@ontario.ca.

To Top31. Is there a size limit when attaching files to the Terminology Request Form?

The total size of all files attached to a request must not exceed 9 MB.

To Top32. What are the technical requirements needed to be able to search the ONTERM databases?

To be able to search the ONTERM databases, you need to have at a minimum Internet Explorer 7 or Firefox 3, and JavaScript must be enabled.

To Top33. Are there technical requirements related to the Terminology Request Form?

Consult the Technical Help on ​how to submit the Terminology Request Form.

To Top34. I just found a broken link. What should I do?

If there is a broken link on the ONTERM site, please contact the Government Translation Service by email at gts@ontario.ca.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Search Ontario Government Sites

ONTERM
Terminologie
de l’Ontario

​​​

Foire aux questions (FAQ)


Réponses

ONTERM en bref

Haut de page1. À quoi sert le site ONTERM? Comment peut-il m'être utile?

Le site ONTERM est un outil de référence pour vous aider à trouver ou vérifier les appellations officielles du gouvernement de l'Ontario, ainsi que les noms géographiques, en anglais et en français. ONTERM est utile aux communicateurs, aux traducteurs et à toute personne voulant vérifier les noms de ministères, organismes gouvernementaux, unités administratives, programmes, politiques, titres de poste ou régions administratives. ONTERM recense également les services spécialisés, les systèmes et applications technologiques, ainsi que les slogans spécifiques au gouvernement de l'Ontario. L'emploi de la bonne terminologie facilite les communications et la recherche d'informations.

Haut de page2. Quelle est la différence entre INFO-GO et ONTERM?

Les sites ONTERM et INFO-GO répondent à des besoins différents. Le site INFO-GO fournit un répertoire téléphonique qui sert à donner une information pratique sur les coordonnées des services et des employés du gouvernement. Les titres de poste et noms de services dans INFO-GO sont fournis à titre d'information générale et les équivalents français n'ont pas été vérifiés. Le site ONTERM contient les titres de postes, les noms de services et programmes ainsi que beaucoup d'autres appellations officielles qui ont été vérifiées et approuvées.

Haut de page3. Comment fonctionne ONTERM?

Le site ONTERM comprend deux bases de données : Appellations officielles Ontario et Toponymes Ontario. Chaque fois qu'un nouveau titre officiel est demandé, une nouvelle fiche est ajoutée à la base de données correspondante. ONTERM contient également une section intitulée Listes de référence, une section Lexiques et une section Guides de rédaction, pour les guides spécifiques du gouvernement de l'Ontario.

Haut de page4. Qu'est-ce qu'une appellation officielle?

Les appellations officielles sont créées et approuvées par un organisme. Elles servent à désigner l'organisme, sa structure, son personnel et ses activités. La base de données Appellations officielles Ontario répertorie les appellations officielles du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Ces appellations comprennent le nom des ministères, organismes gouvernementaux, unités organisationnelles, programmes, politiques publiques, titres de postes, régions administratives, services spécialisés, ainsi que des slogans, systèmes et applications. Les titres de documents ne sont cependant pas recensés dans la base de données Appellations officielles Ontario. Cliquez ici pour plus d'information sur les appellations officielles.

Haut de page5. Qu'est-ce qu'un toponyme?

De façon générale, un toponyme est un nom de lieu. Dans la base de données Toponymes Ontario, les toponymes répertoriés sont non seulement des noms d'entités naturelles, telles que les rivières et les lacs, mais aussi des entités administratives, telles que les agglomérations, les comtés, les parcs ou les municipalités. Toponymes Ontario constitue le registre officiel de tous les noms géographiques de l'Ontario et contient quelque 57 000 entrées en anglais et en français. Cliquez ici pour plus d'information sur les toponymes.

Haut de page6. Quelle est la fréquence de mise à jour de l'information dans ONTERM?

Les bases de données et les pages du site sont mises à jour régulièrement. La date de la dernière mise à jour figure sur chaque page. La date de création et, le cas échéant, la dernière date de mise à jour figurent sur chaque fiche d'appellation officielle et de toponyme.

Recherche dans les bases de données

Haut de page7. Comment faire des recherches dans les bases de données?

Les modalités de recherche sont expliquées dans la section Aide pour la recherche.

Haut de page8. Faut-il entrer les accents et les majuscules?

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'indiquer les majuscules, les lettres accentuées ou la cédille. Par exemple, la recherche sera identique si vous cherchez ministère ou ministere, Noël ou noel, français ou francais. Pour plus d'information sur les caractères spéciaux, voir la question 9 ci-dessous.

Haut de page9. Est-ce que je dois inclure la ponctuation, l'apostrophe, les caractères spéciaux ou les espaces dans ma recherche?

La fonction de recherche tient compte des signes de ponctuation, des apostrophes et des caractères spéciaux, tels que l'esperluette (&) et le a commercial (@). La recherche tient également compte des espaces. Ceci veut dire que si vous cherchez une appellation contenant un signe de ponctuation, un caractère particulier ou des espaces, il faut les indiquer pour pouvoir trouver la fiche. Pour élargir votre recherche, remplacez les signes de ponctuation, les caractères spéciaux et les espaces par l'astérisque (*). Par exemple, si vous cherchez l'appellation « Aboriginal/Federal Relations Branch » et que vous inscrivez Aboriginal Federal Relations Branch (sans la barre oblique « / »), votre recherche sera infructueuse. Par contre, si vous recherchez la chaîne de caractères aboriginal*federal*relations, vous trouverez la fiche recherchée. De même, pour trouver l'appellation « Ontario's Action Plan for Health Care », vous devez utiliser l'apostrophe dans votre interrogation (Ontario's Action Plan for Health Care) ou utiliser un astérisque (Ontario*Action*Plan*Health*Care). Dans la base de données Toponymes Ontario, certains noms géographiques se différencient par l'usage de l'apostrophe. Par exemple, « Bell Lake », « Bell's Lake » et « Bells Lake » sont des noms géographiques distincts.

Haut de page10. Comment interroger les bases de données si je ne suis pas sûr de l'appellation officielle?

La méthode de recherche la plus efficace est d'utiliser les mots-clés et un ou plusieurs astérisques. Par exemple, si vous cherchez le nom d'un comité consultatif qui traite de l'éducation postsecondaire des Autochtones, indiquez comité*éducation*post*secondaire*autochtone. Les résultats obtenus incluront le nom du comité que vous recherchez, soit « Comité consultatif de l'éducation postsecondaire autochtone ».

Haut de page11. Est-ce qu'on trouve des sigles ou des abréviations dans ONTERM?

Oui, on trouve les abréviations et les sigles propres aux appellations officielles du gouvernement de l'Ontario dans la base de données Appellations officielles Ontario. On y trouvera par exemple une fiche pour « réseau local d'intégration des services de santé » avec le sigle RLISS et une fiche pour le « ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales » avec le sigle MAAARO. Les formes abrégées propres à chaque appellation sont répertoriées dans chaque fiche. On trouve aussi dans la Liste des formes abrégées couramment utilisées au gouvernement de l'Ontario les abréviations d'appellations ou de termes les plus courants pour l'ensemble de la fonction publique, telles que SMA pour « sous-ministre adjoint » et SEF pour « services en français ».

Haut de page12. J'obtiens deux ou plusieurs réponses différentes quand j'interroge la base Appellations officielles Ontario. Laquelle choisir?

Il peut arriver que vous obteniez deux ou plusieurs fiches différentes pour une même appellation. Par exemple, on trouvera deux fiches pour l'appellation « ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs » : une fiche pour le ministère ayant existé de 2007 à 2008 et une deuxième pour le ministère actuel. Pour comprendre les distinctions d'emploi, il faut prêter attention aux champs suivants : Statut de l'appellation, Ministère, Entité, Domaine et Notes. De même, si vous cherchez l'équivalent français du titre de poste « Planner », vous trouverez plusieurs fiches avec des équivalents différents. Pour trouver l'équivalent de ce titre au sein du ministère des Affaires municipales, il faut choisir la fiche qui a pour affiliation le ministère des Affaires municipales. Cette fiche donne comme équivalent français le titre « aménageur » et « aménageuse ».

Haut de page13. Pourquoi est-ce qu'on trouve parfois plusieurs résultats pour un même nom géographique?

Chaque fiche concerne une entité géographique particulière avec ses coordonnées de latitude et longitude. Ainsi, si on cherche le nom « Niagara Falls » à partir de l'anglais on trouvera une fiche pour la ville, une fiche pour les chutes et deux fiches pour des agglomérations urbaines. L'équivalent français varie selon la nature de l'entité : l'équivalent français pour le nom de la ville et pour le nom des agglomérations urbaines est identique au nom anglais, mais l'équivalent pour le nom des chutes est « chutes Niagara » en français. En prêtant attention à la nature de l'entité, à la municipalité dans laquelle elle se situe et sa latitude et longitude, vous pourrez comprendre les distinctions entre chaque entité géographique.

Haut de page14. Comment vérifier de quel ministère ou de quelle entité relève une appellation?

La liste de résultats dans la colonne du milieu ne montre pas l'affiliation ministérielle ou organisationnelle. Cependant, en cliquant sur une entrée dans la liste de résultats, on peut ouvrir la fiche correspondante sur la droite et vérifier l'affiliation. Cette information se situe en haut de la fiche, dans le champ Ministère ou Entité.

Haut de page15. Est-ce que je peux utiliser une appellation pour un autre ministère ou organisme que celui indiqué dans la fiche?

Normalement, une appellation est propre à un ministère ou organisme particulier, et on ne peut pas l'utiliser dans un contexte différent pour un autre ministère ou un autre organisme. Par exemple, l'appellation anglaise « Corporate Services Division », se rend généralement par « Division des services ministériels » au sein d'un ministère mais se rendra généralement par « Division des services généraux » ou « Division des services internes » au sein d'un organisme gouvernemental. Cependant, les fiches comportant la mention « Emploi généralisé au sein de la FPO » dans le champ Ministère concernent des appellations dont l'emploi est recommandé au sein de l'ensemble de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Si vous avez un doute quant à l'emploi d'une appellation, n'hésitez pas à contacter l'Unité de terminologie en utilisant le Formulaire de demande de terminologie ou en téléphonant au 416 327-2723.

Haut de page16. Est-ce que je peux restreindre ma recherche à un domaine particulier?

Il est possible de restreindre votre recherche à un domaine, un ministère ou une entité particulière au moyen de la fonction de filtre. Pour plus de détails, consultez la page Aide pour la recherche.

Haut de page17. J'obtiens trop de résultats dans les bases de données. Comment trouver la bonne?

Lorsqu'on obtient trop de résultats, on peut parfois reposer sa question différemment en ajoutant un ou plusieurs mots clés avec ou sans astérisques. Par exemple, si on recherche l'expression government services, on trouvera beaucoup d’appellations qui contiennent cette expression. Si on ajoute le mot « cluster » à la chaîne de recherche (government services cluster), on trouvera deux fiches pour l’appellation : « Government Services Cluster ». Si on ajoute le mot « cluster » précédé d’un astérisque (government services*cluster), on trouvera aussi les appellations : « Government Services Delivery Cluster » et « Government Services Delivery Information and Information Technology Cluster ». On peut restreindre la recherche à un domaine, à un ministère ou à une entité particulière en utilisant des filtres.

Haut de page18. Je n'obtiens aucun résultat quand j'interroge les bases de données. Que faire?

Si vous n'obtenez aucun résultat, vérifiez que vous avez choisi la langue source appropriée et que vous avez bien inscrit le mot ou la chaîne de caractères. Utilisez les astérisques pour élargir votre recherche; par exemple, pour trouver toutes les appellations qui contiennent les mots « agency office », utilisez l'astérisque entre les mots. Cette recherche vous permettra de trouver les appellations telles que « Agency Appointments Office » et « Agency Relations Office ». Référez-vous au besoin à la section Aide pour la recherche.
Si vous ne parvenez toujours pas à trouver l'information qui vous intéresse, communiquez avec le Service de terminologie en envoyant une demande de terminologie ou en téléphonant au 416 327-2723. Nous vous encourageons à nous envoyer vos questions, puisque c'est à partir des demandes reçues que nous créons de nouvelles fiches dans les bases de données ou mettons à jour ONTERM. Néanmoins, n'oubliez pas que la base de données Appellations officielles Ontario contient uniquement des appellations officielles relevant du gouvernement de l'Ontario, mais qu'elle ne contient pas de titres de publications.

Demandes de terminologie

Haut de page19. Quelle est la meilleure façon de soumettre une demande de terminologie?

Le moyen le plus efficace de soumettre votre question est de remplir le Formulaire de demande de terminologie. Vous pouvez aussi nous envoyer un courriel à onterm@ontario.ca en indiquant les appellations demandées, votre numéro de téléphone et, s’il y a lieu, le numéro TTS (Translation Tracking System - Système de suivi des travaux de traduction). Veuillez joindre le ou les documents où figurent les appellations demandées et précisez l'heure et le jour auxquels vous voulez recevoir la réponse.
Un terminologue est disponible pour répondre à vos questions durant les jours ouvrables, du lundi au vendredi, de 9 heures à 17 heures.

Haut de page20. Comment savoir si ma demande de terminologie est bien arrivée?

Lorsque votre demande de terminologie est reçue, un accusé de réception est envoyé par courriel. Si vous ne recevez pas ce courriel et que votre demande est urgente, n'hésitez pas à contacter l'Unité de terminologie au 416 327-2723.

Haut de page21. Dans quels délais est-ce que je vais recevoir une réponse?

L'Unité de terminologie répond aux demandes selon l'ordre dans lequel elles ont été soumises tout en tenant compte des délais de réponse indiqués. De manière générale, il est préférable d'envoyer vos questions le plus tôt possible et de donner un délai d'au moins 24 heures pour traiter votre demande.

Haut de page22. Que dois-je faire si j'ai une demande urgente?

Si vous avez une demande urgente, utilisez le Formulaire de demande de terminologie et laissez également un message au 416 327-2723 pour nous avertir. Précisez l'heure et le jour pour lesquels vous voulez recevoir la réponse.

Haut de page23. Je suis traducteur et j'ai besoin d'une nouvelle appellation en dehors des heures de bureau ou pendant un jour férié. Comment dois-je procéder?

Si vous êtes un traducteur et que vous avez besoin d'obtenir une nouvelle appellation en dehors des heures de bureau (9 heures à 17 heures) ou pendant un jour férié, vous pouvez utiliser un équivalent non officiel (en minuscules) dans votre texte. Veuillez également envoyer l'équivalent en question à l'Unité de terminologie, à onterm@ontario.ca, afin que la nouvelle appellation soit vérifiée, et au besoin, officialisée et ajoutée à ONTERM.

Haut de page24. Faut-il que je revérifie auprès de l'Unité de terminologie toute appellation officielle française destinée à être utilisée dans un contexte juridique (dans un contrat, par exemple)?

Nous nous efforçons d'avoir dans ONTERM une information fiable et à jour, cependant nous vous suggérons de confirmer toute appellation officielle dont l'emploi pourrait avoir des répercussions sur le plan juridique. Pour obtenir une confirmation, veuillez contacter l'Unité de terminologie au 416 327-2723 ou envoyer une demande de terminologie.

Haut de page25. Comment faire traduire une carte professionnelle, un entête ou de l'affichage?

Si vous faites partie de la fonction publique de l'Ontario (FPO), vous pouvez faire traduire gratuitement des cartes professionnelles, des entêtes ou de l'affichage général par l'Unité de terminologie. Utilisez le Formulaire de demande de terminologie pour nous faire parvenir votre demande.
Notez que l'affichage général concerne les noms des bureaux et les indications dont l'emploi est généralisé au sein de la FPO (voir les exemples fournis dans le Lexique pour l'affichage gouvernemental).

Haut de page26. Où puis-je trouver le titre d'une directive, d'une politique opérationnelle ou d'une ligne directrice pour l'ensemble de la fonction publique de l'Ontario?

Ces titres se trouvent dans la liste Titres de directives, de politiques opérationnelles et de lignes directrices pour l'ensemble de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Si le titre que vous recherchez ne s’y trouve pas, veuillez nous envoyer une demande de terminologie.

Autres ressources

Haut de page27. Où puis-je vérifier le titre d'une publication ou d'un formulaire du gouvernement de l'Ontario?

Vous pouvez vérifier les titres de publications de l'Ontario dans le site ServiceOntario Publications. Pour vérifier les titres de formulaires, vous pouvez consulter le Répertoire central des formulaires.

Haut de page28. Où puis-je consulter les projets de loi, les lois et les règlements de l'Ontario?

Vous pouvez consulter le site des lois et les règlements de l'Ontario, Lois-en-ligne. Vous pouvez aussi consulter le texte des versions d'un projet de loi en première lecture, deuxième lecture et troisième lecture sur le site Web de l'Assemblée législative.

Haut de page29. Le document que je traduis a un glossaire intégré. Que dois-je faire?

Questions techniques

Haut de page30. Que dois-je faire si je ne parviens pas à accéder au site?

Si vous avez des difficultés pour accéder au site ONTERM, signalez-nous le problème en envoyant un courriel à gts@ontario.ca.

Haut de page31. Y a-t-il une limite de taille quand on envoie un ou plusieurs fichiers en pièce jointe avec une demande de terminologie?

L'ensemble des fichiers envoyés en pièce jointe ne doit pas dépasser 9 Mo.

Haut de page32. Quelles sont les exigences techniques requises pour faire des recherches dans les bases de données ONTERM?

Pour faire une recherche dans les bases de données vous devez avoir au moins Internet Explorer 7, ou Firefox 3, et JavaScript doit être activé.​

Haut de page33. Quelles sont les exigences techniques pour envoyer le Formulaire de demande de terminologie?

Veuillez consulter la page Aide technique sur la soumission d'un formulaire de demande de terminologie.

Haut de page34. Je viens de trouver un lien brisé. Que dois-je faire?

Merci de bien vouloir nous signaler le problème en contactant le Service de traduction du gouvernement par courriel à gts@ontario.ca.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​